Relayted (2LP) ~ Vinyl ~ Gayngs


Relayted is the debut album from Gayngs, released by Jagjaguwar Records. Gayngs were formed by Ryan Olson alongside Solid Gold members Zack Coulter & Adam Hurlburt. The group counts among its number Megafaun (Joe Westerlund, Brad Cook, Phil Cook), Ivan Howard (Rosebuds), Justin Vernon (Bon Iver), Mike Noyce, P.O.S. (Rhymesayers) & Dessa (Doomtree), psychrockers Jake Luck & Nick Ryan (Leisure Birds), Canny Moon-Casselle & Katy Morley, jazz saxophonist Michael Lewis (Andrew Bird), Maggie Morrison & Grant Cutler (Lookbook) & slide guitarist Shon Troth (Solid Gold). When Gayngs was begun, no-one had any idea it would spiral into a project of epic proportions, enlisting the talents of over 25 musicians from various scenes around the country to share in the vision of drugged-up keyboards & slick production (circa 10cc’s famous I’m Not In Love) whilst somehow cleverly subverting the genre the whole time. While each song is written at 69BPM with trippy transitions between, vocally especially, Relayted is a triumph. Coulter shines; Bon Iver’s familiar falsetto drapes itself around Bones Thugs-style R&B; & P.O.S. abandons hip hop entirely for a soul inspired tenor. With over a dozen people contributing vocals, Relayted is incredibly cohesive. Review “Saved from becoming an homage to ‘80s multilayered vocals… Relayted is something rather special… you won’t hear anything like this again in 2010. Listen to it twice & you’ll fall under its spell for a long, long time.”

Similar products

Best deals at Mighty Ape